RSS

Is Liberty Names of America Scamming Your Domain Name!

Sat, 6th September 2008, 19:33

These guys do for domain name registrations what the phone companies used to be so fond of doing... try trick you into switching to them. They do this by sending you a letter by mail that looks very official. The Liberty Names of America letter reads like an expiration notice that a domain registrar might send, but in this case if you look at the fine print you'll see that it's an attempt to get you to transfer your domain to them.

The reason this works, is because a lot of people don't know or remember who their domains are registered with. Make sure you know this, or can at least find out easily by looking it up when you need to.

Things like this are also easy to spot just by doing a quick web search with the company name as a keyword. Whether it's a hoax, scam or just poor service, you'll often find others who have made their own experience public.

If you're the type that likes to do something about this kind of junk, do feel free to file a complaint with the Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers (ICANN), the Federal Trade Commission (FTC) or the U.S. Postal Inspection Service (or better yet, all three!)

To find out more about the Liberty Names of America scam, check out the following:

Two more creative things you can do to fight back are to not open mail from a known company like the above, mark "return to sender" on it, and send it back which increases their cost of sending junk mail to you. If the company is so kind as to send return envelopes with postage-paid, it can be fun to take one company's junk mail, and send it to another in their postage-paid envelope. All it costs you is a few minutes of time, and you can sleep well that night for having helped to make it less profitable for scammers.

I mean just run a search in Google for Liberty Names of America and see results like: http://www.upwebmaestro.com/example-libertynames.php

1 Responses to “Is Liberty Names of America Scamming Your Domain Name!”

  1. Hostjury Admin Icon streaky Says:

    I got a letter from these clowns a while back, living in the UK as I do I kinda hoped maybe they wouldn't bother going through the expense of spamming me - how wrong I was.

    Looks like they either have offices here or use people to spam for them.

    I didn't really care and just ignored it; but y'know these idiots need wiping from existance, will have to see where they are located..

Leave a reply to “Is Liberty Names of America Scamming Your Domain Name!”