RSS
Screenshot

GISOL

So the domain gisol.com may be for sale by its owner! You may want to seriously consider the SEO implications before jumping on that one!

"At gisol they understand that a great web host must provide a winning combination of generous web space useful features and signature customer service at a competitive price."

Los Angeles, CA, USA

View GISOL's latest deals

Scroll down to read GISOL reviews or add your GISOL review!

GISOL's overall review score

Hosting Reviews for GISOL

Joanna 8 Feb 11

It took me almost 3 years to get over the sting of GISOLs corrupt business practices but since they are apparently still in business, I have decided to post my experience in case anyone is considering using GISOL for web hosting.

I signed up for GISOLs personal web hosting service since February 2003 to host my personal website. I paid an average of $8 per month since 2003. My problems with GISOL started in March 2008.

From March 8, 2008 to April 3, 2008, I submitted one online request, three trouble tickets and one email to GISOL attempting to renew my domain name with no resolution.

On April 3, 2008 at 12:10 PM MST,I received an email from no-reply@gisol.com stating that my account has been suspended.

On April 3, 2008 at approximately 2:30 PM MST, I called GISOL (323-924-1109) at their request. I spoke to Brian. This phone conversation lasted about 10-15 minutes. The following are the bullet points from this conversation:

• Brian told me that my account was in redemption because my domain name had expired.

• Brian said that he had to close my account and open a new account.

• Brian said that this was the only way I would be allowed to continue using the domain name my domain name and not be charged the approximately $500 normally charged when a domain name expires.

• Brian said that GISOL was offering a special on their unlimited web hosting package that would cost me less than my current package. Brian offered me the Windows Web Hosting Unlimited for $7.95 / month with a free domain name, 6 months free and free step up for one year for the new account. I was told the total cost would be ~$40 ($7.95 * 12 = 95.40 - $59.70 = $35.70) for one year. This included renewing my domain name and the new domain name that he would set up for me in the interim. I was told that I would receive rebate paperwork in the mail and an email with my new account information.

• After confirming that the commitment was only one year, I agreed to purchase this personal web hosting package. I did not fill out any order forms online. Brian took all the information he needed to process the order over the phone (although most of my information was already on file since I was an existing customer).

• While still on the phone with Brian, he gave me a web address to enter into a browser window. This web address took me directly to GISOL’s Service Contract. The Service Contract was the only thing on the web page. The website address was www.gisol.com/policies/sign with an encrypted key following the word sign (most likely identifying me as the customer). At the bottom of this Service Contract, there was a signature panel. I entered my name, email address and signed the contract using my mouse.

• I signed this Service Contract as it related to the personal web hosting package I agreed to purchase while on the phone with Bryan. This is the first time I was asked to sign a Service Contract with GISOL.

• I did not sign anything that showed the web hosting package I agreed to purchase or cost.

On April 3, 2008 at 2:35 PM MST, I received an email from no-reply@gisol.com stating that they received and processed my payment of $1,798.20 for a 36 month package for the new account.

On April 4, 2008 at 12:18 AM MST, I received an email from no-reply@gisol.com stating that my account had been resumed.

Again, I never agreed to purchase business web hosting for $1798.20; GISOL charged my credit card for a service I did not order. GISOL claimed that on the Service Contract I signed “Directly above the signature panel, it reads: By Signing Below, I Agree to Pay$1798.20 to GISOL Inc. and abide by the Terms and Conditions set forth by this Service Contract”. IT DID NOT SAY THIS.

I made several attempts to get this resolved with GISOL directly but GISOL would not return any of my phone calls or emails. Once I received the email from GISOL saying that my credit card was charged $1798.20 on April 3, 2008, I emailed GISOL seven times. I submitted two separate trouble tickets. I called numerous times but was never able to be connected with the billing department. On April 9, 2008, I sent a certified letter which GISOL received April 14, 2008 at 10:10 am. On April 16, 2008, I submitted a complaint to the Better Business Bureau. On July 7, 2008, I sent a certified letter which GISOL received July 10, 2008 at 9:55 AM. GISOL never once responded to get this resolved or even to explain the charge.

On April 4, 2008, I contacted VISA to attempt to cancel the charge but was told that I needed to wait until the transaction posted and then dispute the charge. I put my account on hold at this time. I was able to start the dispute process on April 13, 2008.

GISOL did respond to the VISA dispute making several false claims.

1. GISOL claimed that I was contacted my GISOL’s Order Verification Department after my phone call with Brian at GISOL. In this alleged phone call, GISOL claims

• The agent explained that he could not process this new order for a Personal Web Hosting Package because A) I was a current customer with 2 previous accounts and B) I was not using hosting services for personal use as defined in section 16 and 19 of GISOL’s Policies/Service Contract.

• The agent explained that if I wanted to continue hosting with GISOL under the correct package I would need to go to www.gisol.com and click on the HOSTING tab, select Business Hosting, choose the platform I needed and fill out the order form.

• The letter claimed that after the call was terminated, I went online and filled out the Business Package order.

• The letter than claimed that while speaking with the agent, I agreed to the rate and the agent directed me to gisol.com > Business Hosting to place an order (while still on the phone with GISOL).

• The letter claims I completed the full order process for Business Web Hosting online (while still on the phone with GISOL).

• The new account was then immediately created (while still on the phone with GISOL).

I was never contacted by GISOL’s Order Verification Department. This alleged phone call would have to have taken place between April 3, 2008 at 12:10 PM and April 3, 2008 at 2:35 PM because this was when I was first notified that my account was suspended and when I received email notification of the $1798.20 charge. My phone records show no incoming calls from California in April 2008 and GISOL would not provided (a) phone records indicating the date and time of this call, (b) a recording of the conversation, (c) a name of the GISOL employee that called, nor (d) the phone number that GISOL called to contact me.

2. GISOL claimed that I violated my Service Contract with GISOL by having two accounts open at the same time and because I was not using the site for personal use.

I was told by GISOL that I must close my old account and open a new account; This was the only way I would be allowed to continue to use my domain name. I was not given any other options. This was GISOL’s policy. I did not request to open two accounts and according to my conversations with Brian, the one account should have been closed as soon as the new account was opened.

In regards to my domain name not being used for personal use, the site included pictures of my daughter and pictures of a pumpkin carving contest my husband and I have each fall. GISOL stated that “the customer is promoting pumpkin-carving events and GISOL defines that as a Business as per our policies.” To be absolutely clear, GISOL said that because I have pictures of my friends carving pumpkins at my house I am promoting pumpkin carving and this makes my site a business website.

3. GISOL claimed that I filled out any order forms for business web hosting online.

I did not fill out any forms online. I had been a customer since 2003 so GISOL has most of my information on file already. Any additional information that was needed to process the April 3, 2008 purchase of personal web hosting was taken over the phone by Brian.

Because providing tangible evidence that I did or did not fill out forms online is impossible, I was able to show that GISOL’s online order process does not include signing a Service Contract or a Billing Statement as they claim and therefore, I could not have signed the Service Contract or a Billing Statement during the online order process thereby discrediting GISOL’s entire claim that I filled out forms online.

In their dispute, GISOL outlines the following as the steps to order Business Hosting:

(a) Gisol.com > Business Hosting

(b) Picked the Service Platform

(c) Chose the *3 year prepaid $49.95

(d) Next page was provided with an Order Summary

(e) Filled out the rest of the information

(f) Checked the I Accepted checkbox acknowledging that I have read through,

agrees to and accepts our Policies

(g) Viewed the Billing Statement that read “By signing Below, I Agree to Pay

$1798.20 to GISOL

(h) Clicked Next to continue with the process

i. Directed to a Service Contract/Policies

ii. Scroll down to the bottom of the page where I was required to fill in … Name, Email Address and provide a Signature accepting and agreeing to the Billing Statement and the Service Contract/Policies Directly above the signature panel, it reads: By Signing Below, I Agree to Pay $1798.20 to GISOL Inc. and abide by the Terms and Conditions set forth by this Service Contract”.

This text is taken directly from GISOLs dispute letter. However, I went to www.gisol.com on June 21, 2008 at 11:15 pm and again on August 18, 2008 at 9:20 pm and followed the prompts to order a Business Web Hosting package. I used fake information so that I could go through the process to see if it was the same as GISOL claims. It is not. The most noticeable differences were:

a. There is no Billing Statement that reads “By signing Below, I Agree to Pay $1798.20 to GISOL. In fact, there is no Billing Statement at all. There is a line that reads $1798.20 will be billed to the MasterCard card for XXXX. However, there is nothing to sign at all and there is nothing even remotely like the Billing Statement GISOL provided as evidence that I agree to pay the $1798.20.

b. There is no I Accept checkbox. There is a line that says “By submitting this form you agree to and have read our Terms of Service.” The Terms of Service link opens http://www.gisol.com/policies/current.html. This contains the Service Contract. This is a different web address than the example of a signature on a Service Contract in the original dispute (http://www.gisol.com/policies/sign......).

c. The Service Contract cannot be signed. There is no section at the bottom of the page to fill in … Name, Email Address and provide a Signature accepting and agreeing to the Billing Statement and the Service Contract/Policies. There is no signature panel so there is no line above it that reads: By Signing Below, I Agree to Pay $1798.20 to GISOL Inc. and abide by the Terms and Conditions set forth by this Service Contract”.

d. There is only a Process Order button available on this page. Clicking Process Order will complete the order per the website.

In addition, GISOL forged my signature on the Billing Statement they provided as proof that I agreed to pay $1798.20. The first time I ever saw the Billing Statement was when I received a copy with the VISA Dispute letter. I did not sign this Billing Statement, I did not agree to its terms and I did not authorize GISOL to copy my signature. The signature on the Billing Statement is a copy of the signature on the Service Contract. These signatures are identical. GISOL explained this by stating that “GISOL’s system automatically printed the signature on each document.” GISOL claims that the Billing Statement and Service Contract are “click through” and that is what allows them to copy my signature. This is not the case. Their website does not even include a Billing Statement.

GISOL committed forgery as defined by the California Penal Code Section 470-483.5.

The California Penal Code Section 470-483.5 reads

(d) Every person who, with the intent to defraud, falsely makes, alters, forges, or counterfeits, utters, publishes, passes or attempts or offers to pass, as true and genuine, any of the following items, knowing the same to be false, altered, forged, or counterfeited, is guilty of forgery: any check, bond, bank bill, or note, cashier's check, traveler's check, money order, post note, draft, any controller's warrant for the payment of money at the treasury, county order or warrant, or request for the payment of money, receipt for money or goods, bill of exchange, promissory note, order, or any assignment of any bond, writing obligatory, or other contract for money or other property, contract, due bill for payment of money or property, receipt for money or property, passage ticket, lottery ticket or share purporting to be issued under the California State Lottery Act of 1984, trading stamp, power of attorney, certificate of ownership or other document evidencing ownership of a vehicle or undocumented vessel, or any certificate of any share, right, or interest in the stock of any corporation or association, or the delivery of goods or chattels of any kind, or for the delivery of any instrument of writing, or acquaintance, release or discharge of any debt, account, suit, action, demand, or any other thing, real or personal, or any transfer or assurance of money, certificate of shares of stock, goods, chattels, or other property whatever, or any letter of attorney, or other power to receive money, or to receive or transfer certificates of shares of stock or annuities, or to let, lease, dispose of, alien, or convey any goods, chattels, lands, or tenements, or other estate, real or personal, or falsifies the acknowledgment of any notary public, or any notary public who issues an acknowledgment knowing it to be false; or any matter described in subdivision (b).

Source: http://caselaw.lp.findlaw.com/cacodes/pen/470-483.5.html

It is also important to note that an electronic signature must be logically associated with a contract in order to be in compliance with the Uniform Electronic Transactions Act:

Uniform Electronic Transactions Act (UETA). Section 2.8 states "Electronic signature" means an electronic sound, symbol, or process attached to or logically associated with a record and executed or adopted by a person with the intent to sign the record.

The Billing Statement and Service Contract are not logically associated. The Billing Statement is not part of the order process at all and the Service Contract does not reference the Billing Statement.

On September 30, 2008, VISA agreed with me that this was fraudulent charge and I was not required to pay GISOL the $1798.20.

In addition to filing this dispute with VISA, I submitted a complaint to the Los Angeles Better Business Bureau on April 16, 2008. I also filed a complaint with the Denver Police Department on July 17, 2008. The case number is 08-5008926. On August 21, 2008, I filed a complaint with Internet Crime Complaint Center (IC3).

This was not a simple miscommunication between GISOL and me; GISOL has a history of cheating Customers out of money. There are numerous links to consumer complaint websites documenting such behavior. What GISOL is doing is illegal, end of story.

Review Rating
Gisol Victim 25 Sep 10

GISOL=SCAM!

STAY AWAY!

Review Rating
William Brophy 20 Aug 10

Ditto. haha. Same old extortion story. Using TOO much bandwidth. That's funny. My domain was in place to provide me with a static (I'll always own it) email address - MY OWN DOMAIN. I am fortunate, I declined the "1 free domain" and registered my domain myself through GoDaddy - yeah, it costs me an additional $9 a year, but hey - it's only money - sometimes you just gotta suck it up. It's been a while since they tried to strongarm me - don't remember the exact amount they wanted to turn my site back on - but it was HUNDREDS if I did it right now, and MORE if I waited - and there was NO WAY they could offload my files without first paying the piper. My original contract - $9.95 a month UNLIMITED BANDWIDTH - FOR LIFE. Remember those terms? - UNLIMITED - FOR LIFE... Glad they don't control the air supply. Anywho, screw you I said - they didn't OWN MY domain - and all they had were a few emails I never got. I signed on to GoDaddy.com, got my new UNLIMITED hosting account - sub $10 a month with every feature GISOL promised and more from a BIG more reputable company with much more significant infrastructure. Within 2 hours I had my domain switched over to GoDaddy - all DNS entries applied and activated and cascaded down the line and I was up and running. Saying screw you GISOL all the way. Though I do feel they still owe me some money for prepaid service and breach of contract dmamages.

Review Rating
h sarnoff 16 Jun 10

I've been with GISOL for over five years. There were a few outages but they had an easy to used contact interface and those problems were quickly solved. Last year things began to change. They shut down my website and demanded that I pay $59 a month because I was using to much bandwidth. Of course i had to pay for three years up front. Suddenly several months later they shut down my website again. It is a business site and we derive part of our revenue from the site. Gisol knew this and knew they had us over a barrel. This second shutdown was caused, again, by using to much bandwidth. Of course this was just a big lie but I had to pay them $4,000 to get the site back up and for three years of "unlimited" hosting. I now knew that the site would be shut down again and I would be extorted in a few months for more money. Of course they owned my domain name, we all know that story, and I decided that I must buy it from them. I called and they quoted me a price of $1500 plus 15% plus another $300 they said they had to pay to their registering company (this $300 was a total lie as I found out later they had to pay them 0). A total of almost $2300. I agree. They said I could not use a credit card (wonder why) and I had to go to their bank and wire the money into their account. They told me the domain name would be transferred in 5 days. Guess what, it was not transferred. Through a series of fortunate phone calls and emails I was lucky to get a sympathetic person at their registry to contact them. After seven weeks they transferred part of the domain into my name. PLEASE READ THIS: There are three parts to a whois domain name listing. The registrant, the admin and the tech contact. All they transferred was the registrant not the other two which meant they still controlled by domain name and I could not move it from their server and still had to pay them. A bunch of dirty rotten crooks. Please be warned about buying your domain name. Through another series of fortunate incidents I was able to go around them and have everything put into my name. I am convinced if I had asked them to put me in as the admin and tech they would have asked for another $2300. The domain is mine now and I have moved the website to a company where I get the same unlimited package for $9.00 a month versus the $159 that Gisol extorted me for. Please be warned. I lost $6300 from them. I looked them up and they have lost over 700 clients since Jan 2010. Their policy, since they are not getting new business (suckers) is to extort money from their existing clients whose domain names they own. My nightmare with Gisol is over and I've learned a valuable lesson. I'm just lucky I got my domain name from these crooks and liars.

Review Rating
Sally 2 Apr 10

Rec'd email that my acct was suspended. No reason. Phone call extorting me to pay $741 NOW or $1800 tomorrow, though I had receipt through May, two months away. They said I lost two months due to all my hits (I know better).Then email sent for not $741 but $842 (forgot exact figure). When I declined, GISOL wanted a cancellation fee $391 or they would darken my credit report. Slimy company.

Review Rating
Fritz Mills 23 Mar 10

I had the _exact_ same experience as Brian Esteppe-great service, trouble reneweing, and then, within the last week, accusations of exceeding bandwidth. And I had the same response: fool me once, shame on you; fool me twice, shame on me. So I bolted. I half expect them to still try to come after me for unpaid "overage". But as far as I'm concerned, they owe me for 28 months of contracted service they have failed to provide.

Review Rating
Brian Estep 1 Mar 10

These guys have a nice little fraud operation going on.

Though years ago, it didn't seem to be quite so bad. It has quickly devolved.

When I first signed up several years ago, they had a good price for unlimited bandwidth. My site was fine for years.

The trouble started with me not being able to renew my domain name because GISOL had a falling out with the Name Host. I dealt with that and got a new domain.

Then, last year, when my account came up for renewal, I attempt to do so, only to find that my plan is no longer available. I contact GISOL, and end up talking to a total asshole who basically forces me into a 3 year contract if I want to keep my websites. I finally relent and pay up.

Now, 9 months later, they call to let me know that my 'Unlimited' Account is now suspended due to 'using too many system resources'. And mysteriously, the only way to get out of this is for me to upgrade my account. And fork over some more cash. If I don't, I lose my site files and the 500+ dollars still unused in my forced 3-year contract. I was given no proof of my usage or means to fix things. It was made very clear. Pay up, or else.

I just couldn't do it again. This is extortion plain and simple. And $500 is a small price to pay to get these jackals off of me.

I highly advise anyone who's looking for web services to avoid GISOL at all costs!

Review Rating
Benmoussa.org 17 Jan 10

I'm another victim of GISOL the same scam the same story you read again and again.

Review Rating
Another victim of GISOL 8 Jun 08

I was also scammed by these crooks. I signed up for a $200 package and was charged $1798.20. When I filed a dispute with my CC company GISOL submitted a forged document by taking the onlign signed user agreement signature (which you sign when making your purchase online) and copying and pasting it to a document they provide to your credit card company claiming that you signed an agreement for some rediculas amount of money. GISOL also sends you a letter by registered mail which you have to sign for which states that you signed up for a different package. Then, they use copies of the proof of delivery of that letter as proof to your CC company that you recieved the forged document, signed it and returned it to them.

The best thing to do if you have been scammed by GISOL is to cancel your credit card and have a new one reissued with a new number. I have read where some people have had charges to thier CC after not having an account with GISOL for over four years. Stay away from GISOL and if you have been scammed by them, good luck on getting your money back!

Review Rating
Sandi 3 Jun 08

Hi, we were also charged over 1700 Dollars for a domain and also signed up for a second one that day and were charged a little over 1000 Dollars.

We filed a dispute with the credit card company but learned yesterday that the charges will be placed on our statement again. GISOL actually forged our signature. The receipt they sent to the credit card company is not the one we signed. It never said that we agree to pay the amount of $1700.

It's very upsetting, especially since it's taking so long for someone to finally do something about them. How much longer is this supposed to go on? Did anyone ever get their money back?

Review Rating
Lisa 21 May 08

First i want to ask all of you to please take a look at the link provided to people who submit their oppinons they HAVE to offer their URL in order to post a comment (The URL ss then verified in order to post to this forum.)

I have had the same website since 1997 and changed hosting to GISOL about 2 or 3 years ago due to a "great deal".

December 2007 my site suddenly became unavailable and said to contact "administration" when I typed in my web address.

I contacted GISOL tech support the same day via their website’s support ticket feature and was told that “Your domain is expired its in a redemption period you need to wait till the redemption period gets over …and also you need to e-mail this issue to admin@gisol.com”.

(The same message that Jesse Lerma above had)

I call Gisol and get routed around a couple of times. At first I am told that they need my credit card number. When I told them my expiration date is April 2008 I was transfered again.

This time when I spoke to someone on the phone the woman told me "You need to sign a new control panel aggreement, the server being used is no longer being used and you will need a new conrol panel." The woman stated she would e-mail me an agreement to sign electronically and your site will be active again."

The woman e-mailed me a new user agreement for hosting. But I thought this was how I needed to reactivate my account since I had already told her my account was paid through April 2008. So, I sign the electronic aggreement with my mouse. Within a few minutes I get an e-mail stating that I owe a little over $1,700.00!

I called and called and called but was never able to resolve the issue despite having to hold and speek to supervisors etc. I was actually told that the billing department "have no phones."

I am STILL trying to resolve this through my credit card company & my site is NOT up currently (this has been since Dec 2007 & now it is Mid May 2008)because I am afraid that I will owe this money due to my electronic signiture.

Again, Please take a look at the link provided to people who submit their oppinons they HAVE to offer their URL in order to post a comment, which is then verified.

Don't use GISOL, they scam people.

Review Rating
Jesse Lerma 9 Apr 08

I am a victim of an internet crime perpetrated by Global Internet Solutions (GISOL).

GISOL had been hosting my website for a couple of years. Since availability of the site seemed OK, I never asked for support so I was not aware of any problems until March 25, 2008 when my site suddenly became unavailable.

I contacted GISOL tech support the same day via their website’s support ticket feature and was told that “Your domain is expired its in a redemption period you need to wait till the redemption period gets over …and also you need to e-mail this issue to admin@gisol.com”.

I checked my records and found that GISOL had billed my PayPal account for a pre-authorized annual subscription renewal $71.40 on February 8, 2008 but neglected to advise me that they had allowed my site's domain name to expire on the same day.

I also found that my domain was registered to GISOL, not in my name as I was led to believe when I signed up for their service. As a result, GISOL has a lock on my domain name so I cannot simply move my site to another host and GISOL is completely unresponsive to my requests for assistance.

I have sent numerous emails to GISOL admin with no response. I have called all the phone numbers on their website plus others that I found on the web but the numbers are either disconnected, never answered or connect me to an outsourced technical support representative that claims to know nothing. I have generated additional tech support tickets only to receive the same advice to wait for GISOL admin to get back to me.

The BBB gives GISOL an F rating per the following review: “Complaints allege unauthorized credit card charges, dissatisfaction with services, and difficulty implementing cancellation and refund policies. Most complainants are unsatisfied with the company’s response and most complaints go unanswered.”

Most of the complaints against GISOL go far beyond dissatisfaction with their services. In my case GISOL committed fraud by accepting payment to host my website even though they had allowed my domain to expire thereby making their offer an empty promise.

I guess I am lucky as many other GISOL customers (and there are literally hundreds of similar reports on the web) have been defrauded of thousands of dollars via a calculated scheme to extort money from customers with "valuable" domain names to insure that GISOL keeps them current.

Others. (like myself) without a valuable domain name (and protected by PayPal) are simply ripped off and then dispatched with the expectation that we will go away to make room for more lucrative “customers”.

It is depressing to learn that Global Internet Solutions has been committing such fraud on unwary consumers for several years. While my immediate monetary losses are relatively small, I have spent hours attempting to contact GISOL.

Later, when I finally realized that my attempts were futile and that my domain name was not going to be restored, I was forced to register my site under a different name and move it to a new host which cost me additional time and money.

However, my out of pocket losses pale in comparison to the goodwill losses suffered because my customers can no longer reach me under my old domain name, links on other sites referring to my site are now broken and my former search position has been forfeited.

If you need additional evidence I strongly advise you to simply search the internet for "GISOL". You will be surprised at the number of complaints that this search term reveals and the extent of GISOL's fraudulent conduct.

Review Rating
MS 29 Feb 08

In Dec 2006, I signed up for a 36 month hosting package for around $200 with “free” domain name with “free whois privacy”.

In Dec 2007, I received an email from Gisol saying my card had expired and my domain needed renewing. I tried updating the expiry date, and adding a new card, but it still said expired. I emailed them, so they sent me a link to a page on gisol.com to pay for the renewal. All looked OK as after inputting my details it went to a page saying thanks for your payment. I realised that I didn’t get a confirmation email for the transaction, so emailed them. I didn’t receive a reply.

In mid Jan 2008 my website disappeared. I emailed them to ask why. At 0130am UK time I received a call from “Aaron”, saying that my domain had gone into redemption and my account had been shutdown. After a lot of obviously frustrated talk, I agreed to opening a new account which would cost me $42 for 3 years. HE confirmed several times that $42 in total would be all my card would be charged. He also said afterwards that I would receive a refund of $87 for the original contract.

He directed me to a page where I could sign the new contract. This is very difficult using a mouse or a touchpad. Anyway after about 4 attempts, which he said was because Visa wasn’t accepting it, he said it was ok, then put the phone down!

I got an email immediately saying thank you for my payment of $718.20!

I rang my bank immediately after the phone call. They were very sympathetic, but said they couldn’t treat it as a fraud case as I had done business with them in the past and supplied my card details to them. A dispute was filed with Visa International. What Gisol replied with to them and my bank is total and utter FRAUD! I also, like another person above, have proof to prove that it is fraud. I thought that they were pretty watertight, the way they have everything covered, with contracts and verbal agreements etc, but I believe they are getting a bit desperate about the amount of chargebacks they are getting and haven’t really thought through what they are doing this time. It’s NOW going through the Fraud Dept of my bank and Visa International. I hope the evidence is stacking up and they get sent down very soon. It can only be a matter of time.

I did the usual like emailing, ringing, trouble tickets etc but of course no help/reply. My domain didn’t come out of redemption as they said they would, and of course it was owned by them, not me. I’ve managed to get it back now which is a relief, as I have paying clients advertising on there. I temporarily ran my .co.uk version, but it wasn’t ideal as search engines listed my .com version. It’s been down for about 6 weeks while the redemption/deleting process went through. I managed to get snapnames.com to get it back for me the instant it became available.

I can only urge everyone affected to dispute/chargeback the charges, report them to as many agencies (LA Attorney, California Attorney, FBI IC3, Federal Trade Commission, BBB, local police, press, TV etc etc etc) as you can.

Don’t be scared. Let’s do it and get them sent down!!!

I have now received the full charges back from my bank and they are passing the fraud details on to the police.

Review Rating
dc 27 Feb 08

I had a very bad experience with GISOL. Last week I called GISOL for $5.95 per month Web Hosting on Windows platform, a guy from GISOL called me that they could upgrade my subscription to business package which is only $85.40 for two years after the rebate. I thought that was a great deal and told him to sign me up. Last Friday I received a registered letter with the receipt of $1,789.20, and I didn't see the rebate. I called the phone number (323)924-1109 and asked why the rebate was not included. The guy told me that I would receive it in another letter.

I started to doubt it and did the research on the web. The GISOL is a well-documented fraud. I called (323)924-1109 and asked to cancel my subscription. The guy told me that I couldn't cancel the subscription since the rebate was already sent to me although I hadn't received it.

I called my credit card company to dispute this transaction. The credit card company told me that GISOL has already charged me $1,789.20 and I need to fill the dispute form so that I can get the refund. The credit card company will deal with GISOL for the refund. But if the credit card company can't get refund from GISOL, I still need to pay $1789.20, right?

How can I get my money back? Is there anyone had the similiar experience? How can I deal with it? Please help me!!!!

Review Rating
Got Duped by Gisol 22 Feb 08

Wow, that last post happened to me as well but started under different circumstances.

A domain I have had registered for years thorugh Gisol went into Redemption, which should have renewed automatically, but okay. So after over a week of trying to get someone at Gisol to help. I get hold of someone in the redemption department. I had to leave a message with him and someone would call me back. I finally get a call back from a Brian, he says that my account has a problem(which BTW was already paid through end of year)

He suggested I create a new account, since my old plan was from 2003, that they had an 10th Anniversary special and it was actually cheaper than the plan I had been on. He said the price would be3.57 per month. (Exactly the same as the fellow who posted here below) I said great, I appreciate it since its a small site for a family member. So I signed up and he said I would get a certified letter. I asked why, but Brian said its just notification of the account change and for my old account which was still valid till end of year. I finally get home(I was on the road that week) and when I finally went and picked up my certified letter, it was a receipt for 1798.20!!! Unbeliveable,

I was in shock. Figuring it was an oversight I have since tried to contact them to no avail, support keeps giving the 323 924 1109 number which has rang busy every time I have tried to call them, which is pretty much every few minutes.

At this point I feel I am left with no choice but to contact my credit card company and file charges...

Review Rating
Jim Loudon 16 Feb 08

READ THE FINE PRINT FIRST!

NOTE: Where you have to sign via Verisign, READ READ READ! It says NOTHING about ANY rebate!

First, I signed up for a personal website online last Sunday for 200.75. I used AMEX, which the website says they take. So far, so good!

Two days later I get a call from Brian who caught me off guard in a parking lot. I thought he was another business until I finally made the connection. He informed me that they do not take AMEX and to give him either Visa or MC. I gave him my Visa and the pin number. Then, he asked me if I would ever do any "business" on this site. I said that there "might" be a possibility down the line. He said that they were having a 10th Anniversary special and it was actually cheaper than the personal website. I was told that the site was only going to be 3.57 per month!!! As I always want to save money, I said "Sign me up". That night, I had mail from GISOL and there was the shock: 1,798.20!

At this point, they are charging me their business rate of 49.95 or 97 or whatever per month!

Well, Wednesday a certified letter arrived from these folks. Inside was only a receipt! I thought "what a waste of money for a receipt"!

Not seeing any “rebate” offer, I called back Monday to see what was up with the rebate info I was supposed to get. I finally got connected to Brian, who went through 15 minutes of proving I received the certified letter, only to inform him that the only thing inside was a receipt!

He then put me on hold and connected me to Adam (3 way conference call). He explained to Adam the situation, but Adam could not tell me what the rebate was. He said, at first, that it would take several weeks to go through the administration, or he could just e-mail me the information. As I got these guys around 4:45, Adam said he would e-mail me the info. Nada, nope, zilch!

The weekend was upon us, so Monday morning again I called and waited for a while. I finally got to Brian, who this time sent an e-mail to “whoever” to send the rebate info. I logged in to my e-mail and saw the rebate info.

Here is what GISOL does not tell you:

Dear xxx,

Please contact GISOL on 10/xx/08 at (323)924-1109 in order to receive your 8 month rebate. This will entail a full credit (GCC) minus future services prepaid at your choice for an additional 1 or 2 years at $3.57 per month (i.e. 12 additional months will cost a total of $42.84). This email shall serve as your guarantee of the GISOL Sponsored Rebate. If you do not contact GISOL in order to obtain the rebate, GISOL will continue to bill you at the regular rate of $49.95/mo prepaid for 36 months.

This notice will serve as acknowledgment that if a Chargeback Dispute is processed by GISOL concerning your account, this Rebate will be forfeited forthwith.

Sincerely,

Global Internet Solutions

A Gisol, Inc. Company

So, you have only this exact date with which to contact them for a (GCC)?? Credit! What the heck is a GCC credit?

Also, notice that you have been informed about the chargeback on your credit card. I am sure it is going to cost you more than it is worth to fight this…

Also, as I got a “free” internet name registered; guess who actually owns it?

Why, GISOL, of course. So, if you get going on your business and want to move your web hosting, I am sure these guys will be more than happy to sell it back to you FOR A TERRIFIC PROFIT!

Still not sure what to do…

Review Rating
Sue Shields 31 Jan 08

UPDATE TO MY PREVIOUS REVIEW - Just wanted to advise that I got a phone call from the Quality Assurance Dept. after FIGHTING with GISOL'S sales and admin departments for several days over the $1798 charge that they had "slipped" onto my credit card without my authorization. They DID refund the fraudulent amount of $1749, and they DID allow me to cancel my account with them and they did refund the legitimate charge of $48.24. I would like to think that, perhaps, as a result of this, they may begin to conduct their business in a more reputable manner in the future. It just doesn't seem to make good business sense otherwise. Because any company that tries to defraud its customers is only going to wind up with a lot of unhappy customers. ANd that means that, eventually, they'll have NO CUSTOMERS. If they begin to consistently treat their customers decently, they won't have these problems. Maybe GISOL will get better in the future.

Review Rating
Susan Shields 29 Jan 08

While GISOL was hosting my website, www.beat-the-drum.org, I LOST that domain name.

I really don't know, at this point, whether or not GISOL is to blame for this, BUT, when I tried to resurrect my website, I was told that, not only was my domain name gone, but that all of the contents of my website were also in danger.

BUT, GISOL told me that they had "saved" all of my website contacts on their back-up servers despite the current dire circumstances of my website.

Whether or not any of this was actually true, I really don't know because I am truly "technologically challenged" by virtue of my age.

Anyhow, I agreed to "re-enlist" with them since they told me that they could "save" the contents of my website from extinction.

This website was, at least in my view, a rather large, complex and involved one, dedicated to the memory of my daughter who died in 2003 at the age of 16, and intended to try to help other parents to avoid the same tragedy.

The "deal" was that I would pay $48.24 for their services. This would include a FREE 8 months. I would have to call GISOL on Sept. 26th, for some reason. Since that was/is 8 months from now, I would GUESS that that would be the end of the FREE 8 months and then I'd have to pay at that time.

However, as my website is strictly personal, emotional, memorial, etc. and generates NO INCOME whatsoever, I was just very glad to be able to "save" it.

I agreed to pay the $48.24 for what would, in essence, be 20 months of web hosting services.

But, I was told that, in order to get this price, I would have to use an alternate credit card - a different one than the one that I'd used initially when I first signed up with GISOL some 4+ years ago.

So, I gave them the credit card information for my other credit card.

IMAGINE my surprise when I got a phone call from the FRAUD department of my credit card within an hour or two after this transaction, asking if I had just authorized a charge to GISOL.

I was really surprised by this call, but I told them that, yes, I had just authorized a charge to GISOL. However, because this whole thing seemed so ODD to me, I asked them about the AMOUNT of the charge!

Again, IMAGINE my SHOCK and SURPISE when they told me that it was something well over $1,000. I couldn't even HEAR the exact numbers because I was so stunned.

But I told them that I HAD authorized a charge to GISOL in the amount of $48.24, nothing more!

I IMMEDIATELY contacted GISOL and have been in repeated efforts to communicate with them ever since, but they are truly BEYOND BELIEF in the efforts to try to RIP PEOPLE off!

Seriously, their conduct is nothing short of CRIMINAL and somehow, some way, SOMEBODY really needs to STOP them!

I must say that I have been conducting various purchases online for quite a few years now, but this is my very first BAD online experience with ANY company!

NEVER, at any point in the conversation that I had had with the sales rep from GISOL did I ever even HEAR any NUMBER, any DOLLAR AMOUNT, OTHER THAN $48.24.

Needless to say, I have since CANCELLED BOTH of my credit cards so that GISOL won't be able to rip me off any further, for I would not TRUST them one iota, to go in and use my credit card numbers to STEAL even MORE money from me!

Well, I am just now hoping that our justice system really works and that PREDATORY THIEVES like GISOL CAN be "gotten" for their FRAUDULENT business practices!

Review Rating
Phil M. 20 Jun 07

I just filed a complaint with the IC3 (which is the FBI related unit regarding internet crime) as well as the National fraud Bureau, the office of the attorney general of California and the district attorney of Los Angeles, because this company must to be shut down !!! more people file, more weight we will have and the autorities will investigate them . I believe it is a one man operated company, they move a lot, the adress where the company is registered is a private residence where a Mr. Lee is living and he never had anything to do with this company. The adress listed on their website (on Santa Monica Bvd) is a virtual office where they only retrieve their mail. All the phone number of this company are unlisted and caller id blocked. I managed to trace few of them with adresses attached to them but, some are disconnected, some have an answering machine on, and some have Madonna music on... The company is hiding and moving from one adress to another one so nobody can trace them (I should say "him", as every single phone contact I had was always with the same person who changes his name everyday to make believe there are 800 employees in the company... Voice recorded proved me it was the same person!!!) They only have 2 server and I believe they are from a very small size. so to keep the flow of money coming in, they eliminate already paid customer to make space for other future victim ! They have a "F" with the BBB , because they have close to 300 complaint against them. when you live outside the country, like myself also, you are more at risk to be their victim. However Here is what happen to me :

13 month ago I sign up for a 30 month package which include a "free domain" and a 1 year automatic domain renewal option. Last month I suddenly couldn't log into my website. I contacted them by email and they responded that my account was into redemtion and that the sales department was going to contact me. Which they did, by phone , the same day. The Gentleman who call me on my foreign cell phone certainly never expected my caller id picking up his number (as it is unlisted and caller id blocked..) but the number came on my screen. He told me that they made sevearl attempt to contact me to inform me that my domain was going to fall in redemtion (which is false, I checked with my email provider and none of GISOL email went throught their system..) and now I will have to pay $399.95 redemtion release fee and $9.95 to renew the domain. I questioned the fee, he told me that GISOL didn't get one penney of tis money and that it goes all to....ICANN !!! I needed my website as it was my professional tool so I call back the next day the number who was on my cell phone to pay. The guy was extremely surprise when he pick up the phone, he was the same than the one I spoke with the day before. He told me that my credit card will reflect two charges : one of $99.95 to the order of allindomain and on of $309.95 to the order of GISOL... and he hung up ! I contacted ICANN to have some explaination, was answered that my domain was registered with allindomain and that their fee was certainly $90 to release and $9.95 to renew, so I assume that GISOL just screewed me from $309.95. I sent an email to sales and admin, to question the fact I was billed that kind of money and the fact that I had a 1 year automatic domain renewal option and that they didn't respected it and let my domain go in redemtion. Their answer was just unprofessional, agressive and threatening: "WE TOLD YOU THAT WE DON"T GET ONE CENTS OF THAT MONEY !!! Do you want us to cancel your account ? Sales departement"

I told them to do not cancel my account, that they didn't responded to my question, therefor I was filing a complaint with the BBB. Next email from them was : "Your account has been suspended. Please contact the admin departement to discuss your suspension" I call the number, the guy made believe he never spoke with me and he didn't knew me, he told me that their system was in upgrading so he couldn't have access to the file, and to call back after 5pm pacific time. I did... their office was closed. I call back the next day, when the guy pick up he reconized my voice , he hung up! itried again it was of the hook, then tried again he hung up again, tried again had an answering machine, thired again few hour later : number has been disconnected. I contacted them,asking to reactivate immediatly and they send me another email saying :"we are whiling to continue working with you if you contact the BBB and tell them tha our issues have been resolved". I did it, I knew I shouldn't had but I really needed my site to work, so I send them the proof of it asking them to reactivate. They answered one week later :" decision have been made by our management to do not provide you service. We strongly recommend you to govern yourself accordingly and to use the service of a lawyer for future correspondance with us." I cannot transfer my domain as I found out they never registered it under my name on the first palce but under their name and that "they were renting it to me"(dixto).End of the story !!! I am disputing the charges on my credit card, as I paid for a service they choose to do not provide less than 24 hour after payment, and I filled complaint to the IC3 (which is the FBI related unit regarding internet crime) as well as the National fraud Bureau, the office of the attorney general of California and the district attorney of Los Angeles, the NFIC, webassure, econsumer,and FTC. I strongly recommend to anyone who's having problem with this company to do the same, as I said above, more there will be people filing, more the authorities will look into and investigate them.

Review Rating
Mike 25 Jan 07

Terrible host. Always problems with my site ...either won't load or loads too slowly. Their Site Studio rarely works correctly. Customer service sucks big time. Their standard response is "There is nothing wrong with our servers or software".

Review Rating
Sheckandar 20 Dec 06

I've been with them for a year. Constant outages. They recently set-up spam control on their SMTP server and it's blocking a lot of IPs from my ISP, they refused to do anything about it and just kep saying to call my ISP to get IPs delisted. Tech Support is horrible. Takes hours to respond, several times it took a day, they are never helpful. Once you u get to a second level of support, it's a bit better and people there are more knowledgable, but it take days to get a responce from them.

Wouldn't recommend this host to people who need good support and up-time. They have good prices through, hence the lack of support. Can't have the cake and eat it too.

Review Rating
sailorphil 8 Nov 06

PAINFULL .. been with them for 6 years and have officially given up with them. Their customer service is the worst, online support is from India with a series of canned responses that the person you talk with clicks on. They have lost my cheque for the third year in a row and have now closed my account... even though they cashed my cheque. I have called and left messages with their California office ( no response ) - I have emailed sales and technical support, I have opened two tickets, this is the third year in a row I have had this problem with them. - go elswhere

Review Rating
Herol 1 Nov 06

Stay away from gisol, they are down about 50% of the time, They have no customer support, don't even try reaching them by phone. The email system delivers your mail hours sometimes days later. Don't let the low price fool you. Stay away from them

Review Rating
Brent 2 Oct 06

Just POOR Tech support..

nobody that mans the phone or the chat pages knows much more that turning on a computer.

I have mostly email server problems.

These problems go unresolved for weeks. Nobody from there that knows anything[if there is such a person] will pick up the phone a call.

POOR, POOR POOR customer service.

Review Rating
driesbe 17 May 06

Don't take GISOL, I know what I am talking about, they have a very poor uptime and bad customer service. I am sure many heard the sentence "Seniour technicians are dealing with the issue and it should be back online in a couple of hours"... do some search in google and you will see.

GISOL/GLOBAT/GLOBAL I think that they are all the same company.

Review Rating
Kimbo 2 Mar 06

GISOL first attracted me to their services by their prices. They offer really good prices. Aside from this however, their services have never edged further than average. Expect response time to ticket requests to be anywhere from 24 to 48 (or even 72) hours! The responses you can get sometime get you nowhere closer to solving problems. Downtimes are frequent for this website host provider and they always seemed to have problems getting everything to check out at dnsreport.com. Average service many website host providers outperform each and everyday.

Review Rating

Help us to help you! - Review GISOL!

Individual reviews are not necessarily our views and we reserve the right to remove any review or host for any reason.